I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Competitive Training Grants

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department Of Homeland Security
CFDA #: 97.068

Who is eligible to apply...

Entities eligible to receive funding under this program include: national associations representing public safety agencies and institutions of higher education; institutions of higher education; private corporations working in conjunction with the nonprofit sector; and nonprofit organizations.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Applicants must submit proposals electronically through the Office of Justice Programs (OJP) Grant Management System (GMS). As outlined in the Competitive Training Grants Program Application Kit, proposals must include: 1) an element addressing how the proposed project builds sustainable preparedness at the state and local level; 2) a capacity-building component for state and local jurisdictions which includes a leave-behind capability for jurisdictions to employ themselves (e.g. job aids, planning tools, etc.); 3) a process for identifying lessons learned and best practices for inclusion in ongoing Department of Homeland Security efforts; and 4) incorporation of a blended learning approach.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.